Easy Canvas Art.

I am obsessed with pretty fabrics. From the patterns, to the fabric, they are all unique and so versatile to decorate. You’ll see here before I put up my wood crates above my kitchen table, I put a piece of fabric art. Now the art is moved to my den.

Creating art with fabric is so easy. All you need is the fabric you choose/like and the amount you need to create the size piece of art your wanting and something to hang it on.

The easiest way to do this is to buy already built canvas, then stretch the fabric over the canvas. BUT, of course, I like to do things the hard way…so I built my frame. I measured the wall space and decided I wanted a fairly large piece of stretched fabric canvas art. The canvas you can buy at Michaels (usually on sale), Hobby Lobby (40% off coupon online), any art store, and even places that sell art supplies.

I purchased small pieces of thing, long wood at Lowes. I cut the edges at an angle and glued them together. Finally I stretched my fabric around the sides to make the art. I like these pieces because unlike framed art work the texture of the fabric and the canvas/wood frame depth adds dimension. It is also a more modern/different look than most framed art.

You’ll need (some you may not): staple gun, small nails, glue, scissors, canvas or wood, and fabric

Steps:

1. You will need to the width of your fabric before you make a final decision on the canvas size. Of course you can get the length of your fabric to be as long as you want, but you don’t want cuts of your fabric in your art (sewn together). Most designs on the fabric you can do any orientation you choose, but some may only be viewed properly either horizontally or vertically. So with that being said, choose your fabric and know the size you need. I purchased my fabric at Hancocks Fabric (they always have GREAT deals). I picked it out online (below).

2. Decide the size of the canvas/wood frame for your art.

3. Lay the canvas/wood frame on top of the fabric. Make sure the patterns on the fabric are even.Stretch the fabric out around the canvas/frame.

4. Either glue or staple gun the fabric to the back frame of the canvas/wood frame. Make sure to fold over the excess fabric on the corners nicely, sometimes this is visible. Think that you are wrapping a gift (which if any of you know me, my wrapping style is hideous)! Make sure that the fabric is stretched tight so that there are no wrinkles or droopy fabric on the front of the canvas.

5. Let the glue dry (if applied instead of nailing). And you are DONE!

6. It is optional to run stretched ribbon across the fabric, add studs to the edges of the art, or most anything you want to add to your new fabric art.

Look at how people did multiple canvas sizes and multiple pieces for their art!

 

2 Comments

Filed under Home projects

2 responses to “Easy Canvas Art.

  1. Love these Linds!! Great Pick!
    ~ Rachel

  2. Jessica

    I did this above Ryder’s crib! It is ADORABLE, INEXPENSIVE and looks AWESOME!
    P.S. LOVE THE BLOG!!!! I’m on this creative kick right now and I love looking at all this!

Leave a Reply

